Home Campus Directory | A-Z Index

Robert Bartell, Leonard Berkowitz, Mark Casteel, Dianne Creagh, Harriet Darling, Deborah Eicher-Catt, Robert (Bob) Farrell, Deirdre Folkers, Sukhdeep Gill, Frederick (Fred) Haag, Harley Hartman, Cecilia Heydl-Cortinez, Michael Jarrett, Ed Jenkins, Ali Kara, Andrew (Andy) Landis, David Latzko, Kerry Magni, Michael Marcus, Catherine Moon, Larry Newcomer, Samir Shah, Javed Siddique, Abdul Siddiqui, Stuart Stelly, Jane Sutton, Ken Swalgin, Emily Wenk, Anne Vardo-Zalik, Jane Emery, Patrick Tanner, Joe McCormick, Joel Rodney, Sue Ruch, and Jason Kilmer.

  1. Minutes
    1. Meeting called to order at 12:09 p.m.
    2. Approval of Minutes
      1. Motion made by Ken Swalgin.
      2. Motion seconded by Sukhdeep Gill.
  2. Communications from administration, faculty, and committees
    1. Dr. Joel Rodney
      1. No news to date on budget situation
      2. The campus community needs to focus on retention and enrollment in order to help the financial situation. A discussion ensued regarding student retention and issues related that are out of the control of faculty and staff.
      3. There is no funding to support a reception following graduation. The Alumni Society has not covered this since 2009. Last year it was covered by funds from the office of the Chancellor, but will not be this year. Smaller individual receptions are planned for this year and the Chancellor’s office will be able to help with these small venues.
      4. The hiring of a career counselor to replace the recently opened position, has taken place. Andrew Caldwell, formerly part time, has been hired full time as a career counselor/DUS adviser. There are no plans, at present, to hire a replacement part time DUS adviser.
      5. Carole Wagner will be retiring. Her position will be covered though the reassignment of an existing staff assistant.
    2. Dr. Joe McCormick
      1. Thank you to the volunteer faculty marshals for graduation.
      2. There will be a reception for retirees before commencement.
      3. The Student Rating of Teaching Effectiveness (SRTE) process is under way. Please remind your students to fill them out online.
      4. Joe Downing will host a discussion on April 28 concerning the offering of humanities courses in the summer of 2012.
      5. Plagiarism and cheating are on the rise. The director Academic Affairs (DAA) office is dealing with more instances.
      6. There is no more money available this fiscal year for inter-campus and conference travel. The DAA will be sending out a report that will show how funds have been spent.
    3. University Senators
      1. No Report.
    4. Faculty Council Representative, Emily Wenk
      1. There will be a meeting of the council on Monday, April 25.
    5. Announcements from Faculty
      1. No report or comments.
    6. Staff
      1. Jason Kilmer, Student Affairs
        1. The Student Government Association (SGA) has had lacking enrollment. They are proposing to reorganize this organization and align it with the campus advisory board. It would be the Student Advisory Board (SAB) and have a one-on-one relationship with the Campus Advisory Board.
        2. The Programming Board is working hard and excited about programming on campus.
      2. Patrick Tanner, Admissions
        1. Student Aid questions should be directed to Student Affairs.
    7. Student Government Association (SGA)
      1. No report or comments.
    8. Senate Chair
      1. Noel Sloboda will serve as the faculty liaison to the Pullo Family performing Arts Center (The Pullo Center).
    9. Senate Chair-Elect
      1. No report or comments.
    10. Senate Committee Chairs
      1. Academic and Student Issues Committee
        1. Stuart Stelly gave a brief outline of the report which was submitted.
      2. Cultural Diversity and Enrichment Committee
        1. A report was submitted, but no briefing was given.
      3. Curricular Affairs Committee
        1. Deirdre Folkers gave a brief outline of the report which was submitted.
      4. Faculty Affairs Committee
        1. Fred Haag gave a brief outline of the report which was submitted.
      5. Teaching, Learning Technology Advisory Committee, (TLTAC)
        1. Bob Bartell gave a brief outline of the report which was submitted.
      6. Strategic Planning Committee
        1. Jane Sutton gave a brief outline of the report which was submitted.
  3. Unfinished Business
    1. No Unfinished Business
  4. New Business
    1. Election of Senate Officers.
      1. Campus Senate Chair-Elect, Candidates were Ed Jenkins and Emily Wenk. No additional nominations were put forth. Emily Wenk was elected by ballot.
        1. Campus Senate Secretary, Candidates were Maureen Muller-Kahle and Javed Siddique. No additional nominations were put forth. Javed Siddique was elected by ballot.
        2. University College Faculty Councilor-Elect, Candidates were Sukhdeep Gill and Harley Hartman. No additional nominations were put forth. Sukhdeep Gill was elected by ballot.
        3. Campus Ombudsman, Candidates were Mike Jarrett, Jennifer Nesbitt and Abdul Siddiqui. No additional nominations were put forth. Jennifer Nesbitt was elected as Campus Ombudsman and Mike Jarrett was elected as alternate, both by ballot.
  5. Forensic Business
    1. None
  6. Adjournment
    1. Motion to adjourn was approved at 1:22 p.m.
      1. Motion made by Bob Farrell.
      2. Motion seconded by Fred Haag.