Home Campus Directory | A-Z Index

R. Bartell, D. Baughman, L. Berkowitz, M. Casteel, K. Cole, M. Coyle, C.D. Creagh, H. Darling, J. Downing, S. Dwivedi, D. Eicher-Catt, B. Eshbach, R. Farrell, A. Fetterman, D. Folkers, C. Gaston, T. Getz, F. Haag, H. Hartman, A. Henne, M. Jarrett, A. Landis, F. Lugemwa, K. Magni, J. Nesbitt, M. Marcus, L. Newcomer, J. Siddique, A. Siddiqui, N. Sloboda, S. Staton-Taiwo, S. Stelly, J. Sutton, K. Swalgin, K. Trout, D. Van de Streek, E. Wenk, M. Wijesinha, D. Winters, J.J. Yu, J. McCormick, J. Rodney, B. Dennis, S. Ruch, S. Christ, and P. Howard.

  1. Minutes
    1. Meeting started at 11:15 a.m.
    2. Minutes from the December 8, 2009, meeting were approved without comment.
  2. Communications from administration, faculty, and committees
    1. Chancellor, Joel Rodney
      1. No comments.
    2. Director of Academic Affairs, Joe McCormick
      1. No comments.
    3. University Senators
      1. L. Berkowitz said that President Spanier expressed concern about low attendance among faculty and students the Friday before Thanksgiving break.
      2. The global warming/’climate gate’ issue remains a possible public relations liability for Penn State.
      3. Penn State had a record number of students apply for enrollment last year. This trend has continued into this year.
      4. There is discussion underway to increase the language entry requirement at Penn State.
    4. Faculty Council Representative, Emily Wenk
      1. No comments.
    5. Faculty
      1. No comments.
    6. Staff
      1. No comments.
    7. Student Government Representative
      1. No comments.
    8. Senate Chair Elect, David Latzko
      1. No comments.
    9. Senate Chair, Jennifer Nesbitt
      1. The privacy presentation will be rescheduled.
      2. J. Nesbitt urged faculty to participate in commencement (whenever possible).
  3. Unfinished Business
    1. None
  4. New Business
    1. J. McCormick announced that the Congress’s legislation around notifying students of textbook costs will go into effect soon. More details from the DAA’s Office to follow.
  5. Adjournment
    1. Motion to adjourn was approved at 11:34 a.m.

[Note: J. Downing arrived at the meeting late. N. Sloboda graciously stepped in to record the notes during the first part of the Senate meeting.]