Home Campus Directory | A-Z Index

R. Bacha, R. Bartell, L. Berkowitz, W. Cantor, M. Casteel, K. Cole, M. Coyle, H. Darling, J. Downing, S. Dwivedi, D. Eicher-Catt, B. Eshbach, R. Farrell, D. Folkers, C. Gaston, T. Getz, S. Gill, A. Giorgioni, F. Haag, H. Hartman, A. Hasan, A. Henne, A. Huber, M. Jarrett, E. Jenkins, A. Kara, O. Kucukemiroglu, A. Landis, D. Latzko, F. Lugemwa, K. Magni, M. Marcus, J. Nesbitt, L. Newcomer, D. Sarafian, S. Shah, J. Siddique, N. Sloboda, S. Staton-Taiwo, S. Stelly, J. Sutton, K. Swalgin, K. Trout, D. Van de Streek, E. Wenk, M. Wijesinha, D. Winters, J.J. Yu, Tara Moore, B. Dennis, J. McCormick, J. Rodney, S. Shaffer, and H. Deren.

  1. Minutes
    1. Minutes from the April 30, 2009 meeting were approved, pending the following amendment:
      1. Joe McCormick said during the meeting that there may be an addition to the faculty search list. This decision depends on the outcome of a personnel matter which is pending.
  2. Communications from administration, faculty, and committees
    1. Chancellor, Dr. Joel Rodney
      1. No additional comments
    2. DAA, Dr. Joe McCormick
      1. No additional comments
    3. University Senators
      1. Len Berkowitz reminded everyone that he still serves on the Faculty Advisory Committee to the president. This committee meets six times each year. Berkowitz also said that September 1 will be the first meeting of the University Faculty Senate. The senate agenda should be on the Faculty Senate website around August 27. Please forward any comments to either Berkowitz or to Mark Casteel.
    4. Faculty Council Representative, Emily Wenk
      1. No comments
    5. Announcements from Faculty
      1. No comments
    6. Announcements from Staff
      1. No comments
    7. Student Government representatives
      1. Latashia Gilkes, SGA Secretary, said that Student Government Association (SGA) experienced significant turnover during the spring 2009 semester. There is a new SGA president this year. Gilkes hopes to have more student involvement in SGA. SGA committees also need additional members to fill their committee’s seats.
      2. Gilkes fielded questions from Fred Haag and Robert Farrell. Both of these faculty members suggested that SGA revisit its requirement that SGA groups on campus must send at least one student representative to every SGA meeting. The faculty members asked if such a policy may be too restrictive. Barb Dennis commented that the idea behind the attendance policy is to hold each SGA group accountable. SGA members came up with their policy. However, Dennis said that SGA members can always revisit this policy if they choose to do so.
    8. Senate Chair, Jennifer Nesbitt
      1. The Committee Chair’s charge meeting will be September 2, 12:05 p.m., Room 112, Main Classroom Building (MCB).
      2. Upcoming Senate meetings: Monday, October 5, M.S. Grumbacher Information Sciences and Technology Center (ISTC) Room107, 12:05-12:50 p.m.; Thursday, November 12, ISTC, Room 107, 12:05-1:15 p.m.; and Tuesday, December 8, ISTC, Room 107, 12:05-1:15 p.m.
      3. Deadline for Committee Reports is December 1, 2009.
      4. First-Year Seminar has become First-Year Engagement. Please publicize the co-curricular events that take place on our campus. These events are meant to help new students acclimate to the Penn State York experience.
      5. This year, the Curricular Affairs Committee will meet early to recommend searches for 2009-10. Requests for hires in 2010-11 will be discussed later, with the goal of making recommendations by early spring 2011.
      6. Please contact Nesbitt to add/change your committee membership.  Nesbitt and McCormick both acknowledged Ben Benharbit, who served our campus well. Ben retired recently.
  3. Unfinished Business
    1. None
  4. New Business
    1. Michael Jarrett was elected as Chair of the campus Promotion and Tenure (P&T) Committee. Sukhdeep Gill was elected as one of the two P&T Committee members. There was a tie between Mark Casteel and Robert Farrell for the second P&T Committee member assignment. They conferred. Farrell will serve on the committee.
    2. Both Robert Farrell and Joe McCormick voiced their concern about visitors on our campus who do not know where their event is located. It was suggested at the meeting that someone on campus coordinate all event information from a central location. The example of using the TV in MCB for this purpose was raised. Deirdre Folkers suggested that everyone contact Barb Dennis well before the event so that it can be posted on the Web calendar, and Jason Kilmer so it can be included in This Week At York (TWAY). Barbara Eshbach suggested that individuals include the building number, as well as the room number, in their communication with campus visitors. Kip Trout suggested a technology like a ‘virtual events receptionist’ might be appropriate to address this problem. David Latzko will take this issue to front line staff, where it can be addressed.
  5. Forensic Business: Reports from Standing Committees
    1. No forensic business was addressed by the Senate
  6. Adjournment
    1. Motion to adjourn was approved at 12:58 p.m.