Home Campus Directory | A-Z Index

R. Bacha, A. Benharbit, L. Berkowitz, W. Cantor, D. Coho, G. Collison, H. Darling, C. Dorworth, C. Dzubak, D. Eicher-Catt, R. Farrell, D. Folkers, C. Gaston, T. Getz, J. Gibble, S. Gladfelter, F. Haag, A. Hasan, C. Heydl-Cortinez, M. Hoch, M. Jarrett, A. Kara, K. Knapp, O.Kucukemiroglu, D. Latzko, K. Magni, M. Marcus, L. Miller, J. Nesbitt, L. Newcomer, D. Sarafian, S. Shah, A. Siddiqui, N. Sloboda, S. Staton-Taiwo, J. Sutton, K. Swalgin, D. Van de Streek, V. White, D. Winters, S. Christ, J. McCormick, S. Werner.

Meeting was called to order at 12:10 p.m. by Chair A. Benharbit

  1. Minutes
    Minutes of the March 3, 2005 meeting of the Faculty Senate were approved without comment.
  2. Communication from the following:
    1. DAA J. McCormick
      1. Pullo and Advisory Board Grant Proposals will be reviewed by the Grant Review Committee on Friday, April 15th. Five Pullo Grant applications have been received and sixteen Advisory Board grant proposals were received. The pool of available funds for Pullo Grants is $10,000, and the pool for Advisory Board Grants is $8,800.
      2. Samir Shah has been nominated for a University-Wide IST Faculty Award
      3. Cora Dzubak's petition for promotion to Senior Instructor has been sent to the Office of the Dean of the CWC for consideration.
      4. Hiring of two tenure-track positions for Fall 2005 semester:
        1. Kaori Ishidi has been offered a position of Assistant Professor in CAS (she is completing the Ph.D. degree at Arizona State University); and
        2. Jon Kohn has been offered a position of Associate Professor of Business. He is currently at Shippensburg University.
      5. Pay for teaching summer classes remains the same as in the past, i.e., 11 percent for the first course taught where the enrollment is at least 15 students.
    2. University Senator - L Berkowitz
      1. There are two reports from the March 15, 2005, University Faculty Senate meeting that people may be interested in:
        1. "University Travel Task Force Report" at http://www.senate.psu.edu/agenda/mar15-05agn/app_k.pdf
        2. "Faculty Salaries, Academic Year 2004-2005" at http://www.senate.psu.edu/agenda/mar15-05agn/app_l.pdf
      2. CWC Reorganization
        The Chair of the University Faculty Senate has requested comments on the proposed reorganization from the faculty organizations of all units which will be affected by the reorganization. So far he has received comments from individuals but none from any faculty organizations. Senate Council (of which Mark Casteel is a non-voting member) will be voting on the reorganization May 3 so it would be a very good idea for us to provide input before that date.
    3. CWC Senator - D Eicher-Catt distributed her notes via email before the Senate meeting. Please see her email message with subject "Notes on CWC Senate Meeting - 4/6/05," dated 4/13/2005 at 7:45 p.m.
    4. SPC-A Kara announced that all committee proposals received will be reviewed by SPC before the end of the year.
    5. Senate Chair - A Benharbit
      1. Thanked J Dawson and N Sloboda for counting the votes for University Senator. A Hasan was elected.
      2. Thanked the Honors Committee for hosting a reception for student candidates.
      3. Thanked the Diversity Committee for organizing Unity Day which was held on April 13, 2005.
      4. Announced an open meeting to discuss the Reorganization of the CWC which will be held on Thursday, April 21, in Room 105.
  3. New Business
    1. Elections
      1. Chair-Elect-D Folkers was elected.
      2. Secretary - N Sloboda was elected.
      3. Ombudsman-L Berkowitz was elected, and J Sutton will serve as the alternate.
    2. Revisions to Senate Constitution - M Jarrett.
      Each of the following motions was unanimously approved with voting by show of hands.

      COMBINED MOTIONS 1 AND 2: We move to rescind Article II, Item C of the York Campus Senate Bylaws and also move to amend Article II, Functions of Standing Committees, Item D of the York Campus Senate Bylaws to read as follows:

      D. Academic and Student Issues Committee This committee addresses the quality of the campus academic environment, including such aspects as instruction, the instructional evaluation process, advising services, transitional programs, learning support services, clubs and other extracurricular activities, and student conduct. The DAA, DSES, DACC, DLC, and the Head Librarian (or their representatives) are ex-officio members.

      Combined Motions 1 and 2 was approved by a 39-0 favorable count.

      MOTION 3. We move to rescind Article II, Item F. of the York Campus Senate Bylaws.

      Motion 3 was approved by a 37-0 favorable count.

      MOTION 4. We move to rescind Article II, Item H. of the York Campus Senate Bylaws.

      Motion 4 was approved by a 36-0 favorable count.

      MOTION 5. We move to amend Article II, Functions of Standing Committees, Item B. of the York Campus Senate Bylaws to reconfigure the membership of the Curricular Affairs Committee to read as follows:

      B. Curricular Affairs Committee This committee evaluates proposals for new academic degree programs and makes recommendations about them to the Senate. It also periodically reviews the quality of existing degree programs offered at the Campus. Committee membership shall be comprised of two representatives from each of the Academic Units and a chair appointed by the Chair of the York Campus Senate. The representatives will be selected by the faculty within the appropriate academic unit; the DAA is an ex officio member.

      Motion 5 was approved by a 38-0 favorable count.

  4. Motion to adjourn was approved at 12:57 p.m.

The next Senate meeting is April 14, 2005, Conference Center, MCB

This page last updated: April 19, 2005 10:21 AM
This server is provided and maintained by the Penn State York Office of C&IS. If you need to communicate with our staff regarding this website, send electronic mail to: York campus webmaster.