Home Campus Directory | A-Z Index


B. Babcock, R. Bacha, A. Benharbit, L. Berkowitz, B. Broadbent, C. Callahan, W. Cantor, M. Casteel, D. Coho, M. Coyle, H. Darling, J. Dawson, C. Dorworth, D. Eicher-Catt, R. Farrell, A. Fetterman, S. Foley, D. Folkers, C. Gaston, T. Getz, J. Gibble, S. Gill, S. Gladfelter, F. Haag, A. Hasan, A. Henne, R. Himmer, M. Hoch, L. Itzoe, M. Jarrett, J. Keat, C, Kennedy, K. Knapp, O. Kucukemiroglu, D. Latzco, K. Magni, M. Marcus, L. Miller, N. Mpofu, C. Murphy, L. Newcomer, J. O'Hara, P. Oles, S. Robinson, D. Russell, A. Siddiqui, N. Sloboda, J. Smeltzer, K. Swalgin, K. Trout, D. Van de Streek, V. White, M. Wijesinha, D. Winters, S. Christ, C. Clancy, T. Engdahl, N. Flesher, J. McCormick, R. Campbell, R. Vangreen


The meeting was called to order at 12:09 pm by Chair M. Jartett. Minutes of the last meeting (November) were approved unanimously.

A. Benharbti and A. Kara have been elected (previous paper ballot) to the Strategic Planning Committee.

Candidates for Faculty Senate President are J. Sutton and L. Newcomer.
Candidates for Faculty Senate Secretary are D. Coho and R. Himmer.


M. Jarrett:

D. Gogniat is at a meeting regarding retaining the classroom shell in the new building.

There will be a presentation and possible vote on the proposed nano-fabrication program in January.


J. McCormick reported on room availability for rescheduling classes missed due to inclement weather. A reminder that final exams are NOT to be given until finals week.

A short discussion was held regarding the way SRTE's can be distributed if inclement prevents normal distribution.

We will be planning for both fall and spring semesters in order to be more efficient. Unit leaders should bring information for the next 2 semesters to the January meeting.

Some former faculty marshalls for graduation will be asked to serve in this capacity on December 20.

S. Christ: S. Werner asked me to announce that students who just walk away (stop showing up for class) cost the campus money. Faculty may receive notes asking for the last known time of student attendance.
It helps when faculty send us names of students who stop attending during the semester because we can persuade them to withdraw.

R. Farrell: I ask S. Shellenberger to ask them to drop the class.


M. Casteel: Legislation was passed that requires a minimum grade of C for all new minors. Minors are 18 credits.


R. Himmer: S. Gladfelter and I have put together a website so students can shop around for textbooks. It can be reached from either the student or faculty and staff sections. It is requested that information on the textbooks faculty intend to use be given to M. Blymire.

D. Van de Streek: G. Collison invites people to student displays at 12:30pm today.

C. Murphy: R. Bacha received his PhD this week.

M. Hoch: We are seeking volunteers to look over the schedule evaluation surveys we have developed. We ask that faculty distribute these in classes next semester.

D. Van de Streek: A handout prepared by the Space Reallocation Committee was distributed. Much discussion was held regarding the need for both classrooms and faculty offices (for part-time and full-time faculty). A lot still depends on how much the space the building has. We would like to combine administrative offices so students only have to make one stop.

The Committee was thanked for its efforts.

Meeting was adjourned at 1:17 pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Sherry Robinson







This page last updated: July 10, 2000 7:10 PM
This server is provided and maintained by the Penn State York Office of C&IS. If you need to communicate with our staff regarding this website, send electronic mail to: York campus webmaster.