Home Campus Directory | A-Z Index

In attendance: B. Babcock, R. Bacha, A. Benharbit, , W. Cantor, M. Casteel, G. Collison, E. Cooper, M. Coyle, H. Darling, J. Dawson, C. Dzubak, R. Farrell, C. Gaston, T. Getz, S. Gladfelter, F. Haag, E. Harrison, A. Hasan, C. Heydl-Cortinez, M. Jarrett, A. Hara, O. Kucukemiroglu, D. Latzko, J. Leece, M. Marcus, C. Murphy, M. Nicholas, J. O'Hara, S. Robinson, D. Russell, D. Sarafian, A. Siddiqui, K. Swalgin, K. Trout, D. Van de Streek, E. Wenk, V. White, M. Wijesinha, D. Winters, R. O'Connell, S. Christ, W. Eaton, D. Gogniat, T. Riley, S. Werner, C. Clancy, B. Dennis, R. Campbell

Chair Gary Collison called the meeting to order at 12:08 PM. The minutes of the August 18th meeting were approved by consensus.


Senate Chair:

G. Collison:

  • The chair asks that committees discuss with him prior to the meeting any announcements they wish to make at the Senate meeting. E-mail is the preferred means of making announcements.
  • The new faculty members have been appointed to Senate committees.
  • Searches for 5 faculty positions are underway. Students will be named to the search committees.

University Senators:

M. Casteel: The University Senate met Tuesday. Informational reports were presented on the university libraries and the Schreyer Honors College.

Commonwealth College Senators:

D. Sarafian: The due date for submitting information to the CWC research data base is tomorrow.

Faculty Announcements:

J. O'Hara: The bike hike is Sunday. An e-mail will be sent providing an address to which contributions may be sent.

A. Benharbit: The CWC Curricular Affairs Committee adopted minor changes to the 2 year business program.

New Business


The Curricular Affairs Committee presented the following motion:

"The York Campus Senate approves the offering for Fall 2001 of a baccalaureate degree in Electro-Mechanical Engineering Technology as described in the 1998-2000 Baccalaureate Degree Programs Bulletin."

The motion was approved.


There were four candidates for the 2 1/2 year position to start immediately: M. Wijesinha, K. Swalgin, A. Hasan, and D. Winters. K. Swalgin to elected to fill the vacancy.


C. Dzubak presented an informational report for the Academic and Student Issues Committee on a proposed course, Educational Psychology 297, Learning to Learn. The course would contain three 1-credit modules: one on study skills, a second on memory and information processing, and a third on critical thinking and stress and anxiety.


J. O'Hara and D. Gogniat provided an informational report on the status of the York Campus Senate budget proposals for this academic year. The deadline for committees to submit budget proposals to the Campus Senate for next academic year is October 25.


M. Jarrett circulated the Faculty Affairs Committee's draft of proposed changes in campus promotion and tenure guidelines. These changes bring campus practice into alignment with college policy. There will be two campus committees: a Tenure/Promotion Review Committee and a Professor Promotion Review Committee. The Faculty Affairs Committee will present three motions at the next Senate meeting.


R. Campbell led a discussion on whether the Senate needs to develop an ad-hoc committee to take a broad-based view of advising on campus. The committee would examine issues such as advising loads, 4-year liberal arts advising, advising outside of fields, and the role of the advising center in advising first and second year students. The Chair asked for the sense of the Senate on whether such a committee should be formed. Little support was expressed.

G. Collison asked for volunteers to be elected as representatives of the part-time faculty. Faculty members are encouraged to urge part-time faculty in their areas to be part of the Senate.

The meeting adjourned at 1:16 PM.

This page last updated: July 10, 2000 7:10 PM
This server is provided and maintained by the Penn State York Office of C&IS. If you need to communicate with our staff regarding this website, send electronic mail to: York campus webmaster.