Home Campus Directory | A-Z Index

Teaching Award Nominations Sought

1/29/2008 —

Nominations are being accepted for the 2008 James H. Burness Award for Excellence in Teaching. The award given annually to recognize any aspect of excellent instruction (lectures, demonstrations, classroom activities, handling of discussions, individual attention, laboratory instruction, etc.) that contributes to the academic quality of Penn State York  The purpose of the award is to recognize excellence in instruction, not to identify the “most popular” faculty member.  The teaching award is named in memory of the late James H. Burness in recognition of his outstanding teaching and service to the campus.  Burness died in December 1999.

All faculty are eligible to be nominated except for recipients of the award in the past five years:  Fred Haag and Walter Arnold (2003), Deirdre Folkers (2004), Noel Sloboda and H. Robert Kaufhold (2005), John Dawson (2006), and Bruce Babcock and Heidi Deren (2007).

Two awards are given: one to a full-time faculty member and one to a part-time faculty member.  Do not worry if you are unsure whether a faculty member is full-time or part-time. The Teaching Award Committee will divide the nominations accordingly.
This nomination form is for faculty who are teaching in fall 2007 and / or spring 2008.

Please make your nominations using the online form and please provide a brief paragraph explaining what you think this faculty member has done to merit an award for excellence in instruction. We feel this is a good way to say “thank you” to a faculty member who is doing an excellent job and we hope you do, too.

Thank you for your response and participation in the selection process. Please submit the form electronically, or print out the form and return your nomination to the faculty staff assistant on the second floor of the M.S. Grumbacher Information Sciences and Technology Center (ISTC) or to the staff assistant to the chancellor in room 121 Main Classroom Building by 5:00 p.m. on Friday, February 29. Ask the staff assistant to place your nomination in Deirdre Folkers’ mailbox.

The nomination deadline is Friday, February 29, 2008.

Email this story to a friend Facebook Twitter