Home Campus Directory | A-Z Index

Penn State York Honors Athletes

4/15/2008 —

Penn State York honored its student athletes at the Thirty-seventh Annual Athletic Awards Banquet Friday, April 11, in the Lion’s Den of the Joe and Rosie Ruhl Student Community Center at the campus.  Awards were presented following a 6 p.m. dinner.

Twenty-five Penn State York students earned the distinction of Academic All-Conference.  This honor is bestowed on those student athletes who have a semester GPA of 3.0 or higher during the semester of competition or a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher and completion of at least 24 credits.  Recipients in their sports are:  Baseball:  Adam G. Allshouse, Red Lion; Joseph E. Bechtel, Glenville; Michael D. Burkentine, Hanover; Brent A. Crawford, York; Brian K. Skeen, York; Jared L. Stiffler, York; Jonathan M. Roberts, Stewartstown; and Robert A. Whaley, Dover.  Men’s Basketball:  Joshua D. Czerski, Baltimore, MD; Matthew N. Frey, York; Eric A. Hudak, York; and Nicholas D. Huso, Parkton, MD.  Women’s Basketball:  Kaitlyn O. Toomey.  Soccer:  Neel Arora, York; Andrew W. Rudisill, Dover; John F. Suarez, York; and Tyson B. Wright, York. Tennis:  Christopher A. Bonham, Lancaster; Matthew K. Holdorf, York; Osman Veledar, Lancaster; Abhishek S. Parikh, York; and Chung Hong (Ronald)Sun, York.  Women’s Volleyball:  Jamie R. Lau, Wrightsville; Briana Mott, State College; and Erin R. Murphy, Hanover.

Twelve students earned Athletic All-Conference in the Penn State University Athletic Conference (PSUAC).   This award is given to athletes chosen either by their coach or other coaches in the conference for their athletic performance.  Recipients are: Adam G. Allshouse, Red Lion, baseball; Eric A. Hudak, York, men’s basketball; Lindsay E. Mumma, Dover, women’s basketball; Suhaib M. Alqaddomi, York, soccer; Brian A. Helm, Spring Grove, soccer; Daniel C. Montague, Lancaster, soccer; John F. Suarez, York, soccer; Christopher A. Bonham, Lancaster, tennis; Kayla E. Cyr, York, tennis; Matthew K. Holdorf, York, tennis; Jonathan E. Pettit, York, tennis;  and Lindsay E. Mumma, Dover, women’s volleyball.

The Coaches’ Award honors those athletes chosen by their coach for their sportsmanship, leadership, and general contribution to the team.  Not all teams give these awards.  Recipients are: Tyler A. Buck, Macungie, baseball; Eric A. Hudak, York, men’s basketball; and Lindsay E. Metzger, Spring Grove, women’s basketball.

Joshua D. Czerski, Baltimore, MD; received the Trimmer Award in basketball.  This award is named in honor of former Penn State York Basketball Coach Ron Trimmer and is given to the most improved player. 

John F. Suarez, York, received the Broadbent Award given in honor of Bruce Broadbent, Ph.D., former assistant professor of kinesiology at the campus and division head of health and human development at the Commonwealth College.   Broadbent was the campus’ first athletic director and worked for more than 30 years to promote the campus’ athletic programs.

Christopher R. Jones, East Berlin, received the Christopher C. Miller Sportsmanship Award for soccer.  This award is given to an athlete who displays a high level of sportsmanship not only on the soccer field but also in everyday life.  The award was established in 2002 to honor the late Christopher C. Miller, the son of former Penn State York Soccer Coach George Miller, who passed away on July 9, 2001 at the age of 16.  During his soccer career, Christopher played between 350 and 400 soccer games and never received a yellow or red card for unsportsmanlike play.  His love if the game of soccer and outstanding sportsmanship will always be remembered through his award.

Team coaches presented awards to their athletes:  Women's Volleyball (Head Coach Meggan Clancy and Assistant Coach Amy Yohe) First-year awards: Rachel L. Alfano, York; Luxsana Iamsakuldacha, York; Jamie R. Lau, Wrightsville; Lindsay E. Metzger, Spring Grove; Briana M. Mott, State College; Lindsay E. Mumma, Dover; Erin R. Murphy, Hanover; Abbey J. Sabold, Manchester; and Ann P. Shaw, Spring Grove.

Team Tennis (Head Coach Michael Arnold)  First-year awards:  Christopher A. Bonham, Lancaster; Kayla E. Cyr, York; Michael A. Diaz, Lancaster; Matthew K. Holdorf, York; Abhishek S. Parikh, York; Jonathan E. Pettit, York; and Chung Hong (Ronald) Sun, York. Second-year awards:  Sarai Flores, York; Jason P. Throckmorton, New Freedom; and Osman Veledar, Lancaster.  Fourth-year awards:  Carrie L. Matthews, Shrewsbury and Jennifer M. Shaw, Spring Grove.

Soccer (Head Coach Rich Chilcoat, Assistant Coach Tim Brokopp)  First-year awards: Colton M. Allison, York; Suhaib M. Alqaddomi, York; Matthew D. Bieber, York; Joseph D. Dizio, York; Christopher R. Jones, East Berlin; Daniel C. Montague, Lancaster; Andrew W. Rudisill, Dover; Inwoo Seo, Marietta; Logan D. Shaffer, York; John F. Suarez, York; and Tyson B. Wright, York.  Second-year awards:  Neel Arora, York and Brian A. Helm, Spring Grove. 

Women’s Basketball (Head Coach Eric Leese) First-year awards:  Nicole E. Davis, York Haven; Lindsay E. Metzger, Spring Grove; Lindsay E. Mumma, Dover; Tiffany A. Mummert, York; Whitney R. Rodkey, Dallastown; and Kaitlyn O. Toomey. Dover.  Second-year awards:  Kate M. Musso, York.

Men's Basketball (Head Coach Steve Baublitz, Assistant Coach Keith Klahold)  First-year awards:  Eric M. Boyle, Wrightsville; Nevar A. Chase, York; Joshua D. Czerski, Baltimore, MD; Russell N. Englebert, East Berlin; Eric A. Hudak, York; Nicholas D. Huso, Parkton, MD; Nicolaos G. Karanicolas, Hellam; and Nathaniel R. Shewell, York.  Second-year awards:  Matthew N. Frey, York; Clifton O. Johnson, York; John E. Mehring, York; and Brandon E. Sullivan, York.

Baseball (Head Coach Ron Workinger and Assistant Coach Joe Royer) First-year awards:  Neel Arora, York; Michael D. Burkentine, Hanover; Christopher A. Garner, Dillsburg; Trenton L. Glace, New Freedom; Daniel S. Hood, McSherrystown; Justin S. McGee, Hanover; Nicholas S. Miller, BelAir, MD; Corey L. Righter, York; Jonathan M. Roberts, Stewartstown; Brian K. Skeen, York; Jared L. Stiffler, York; and Matthew L. Valverde, York.  Second-year award:  Adam G. Allshouse, Red Lion; Joseph E. Bechtel, Glenville; Tyler A. Buck, Macungie; Brent A. Crawford, York; John E. Mehring, York, and Daniel R. Reichard, New Cumberland.  Third-year awards:  Gregory M. Books, Dillsburg and Robert A. Whaley, Dover.  Baseball staff includes Todd E. Eicker, scorekeeper, Red Lion; Amanda M. Clements, manager, Lancaster; Abigail G. Hofstrand, manager, Stewartstown; and Matthew J. McKee, manager, East Berlin.

Powerlifting, a club sport under the direction of Peter Catina, assistant professor of kinesiology, also received awards.  Recipients are Luke D. Cover, Spring Grove; Benjamin D. Glotfelty, New Freedom; Nathan J. Greathouse, Mountville; Matthew J. Halderman, York; and Phillip L. Smith, Millersville.

Email this story to a friend Facebook Twitter