Home Campus Directory | A-Z Index

Teaching Award Nominations Sought

10/14/2009 —

Nominations are being accepted for the 2010 James H. Burness Award for Excellence in Teaching. The award given annually to recognize any aspect of excellent instruction (lectures, demonstrations, classroom activities, handling of discussions, individual attention, laboratory instruction, etc.) that contributes to the academic quality of Penn State York. The purpose of the award is to recognize excellence in instruction, not to identify the “most popular” faculty member. The teaching award is named in memory of the late James H. Burness in recognition of his outstanding teaching and service to the campus. Burness died in December 1999.

All faculty are eligible to be nominated except for recipients of the award in the past four years: John Dawson (2006), Bruce Babcock and Heidi Deren (2007), Abul Siddiqui and Gene Ellis (2008), and Mark A. Casteel (2009).
Two awards are given: one to a full-time faculty member and one to a part-time faculty member. Do not worry if you are unsure whether a faculty member is full-time or part-time, the Teaching Award Committee will divide the nominations accordingly.
This nomination form is for faculty who are teaching in fall 2009 and/or spring 2010.

Please make your nominations using the online form and please provide a brief paragraph explaining what you think this faculty member has done to merit an award for excellence in instruction. The award is presented as a good way to say “thank you” to a faculty member who is doing an excellent job.

Please submit the form electronically by 5:00 p.m. on Friday, Feb.12, 2010.

Email this story to a friend Facebook Twitter