Home Campus Directory | A-Z Index

Teaching Award Nominations Sought for 2012

2/2/2012 —

Nominations are being accepted for the 2012 James H. Burness Award for Excellence in Teaching. The award given annually to recognize any aspect of excellent instruction (lectures, demonstrations, classroom activities, handling of discussions, individual attention, laboratory instruction, etc.) that contributes to the academic quality of Penn State York. The purpose of the award is to recognize excellence in instruction, not to identify the “most popular” faculty member. The teaching award is named in memory of the late James H. Burness in recognition of his outstanding teaching and service to the campus. Burness died in December 1999.

All faculty are eligible to be nominated except for recipients of the award in the past four years: Abdul Siddiqui and Gene Ellis (2008), Mark A. Casteel (2009), Harley Hartman and Frank Miller (2010), and Charles (Chuck) L. Kennedy and Judith K. McCormick (2011).
Two awards are given: one to a full-time faculty member and one to a part-time faculty member. Do not worry if you are unsure whether a faculty member is full-time or part-time, the Teaching Award Committee will divide the nominations accordingly.
This nomination form is for faculty who are teaching in fall 2011 and/or spring 2012.

Please make your nominations by using the online form, or print out the form and return your form to Toni Dumas, faculty staff assistant on the second floor of the M.S. Grumbacher Information Sciences and Technology Center (ISTC) or Christina Lee, staff assistant to the director of academic affairs in the Lee R. Glatfelter Library, by 5 p.m. on Friday, Feb. 24. Ask the staff assistant to place your nomination in Abdul Siddiqui’s mailbox.

Email this story to a friend Facebook Twitter