Home Campus Directory | A-Z Index

CAS Club

CAS Club membersThe Penn State York club, National Communication Association Student Group (NCASG), is sponsored by the National Communication Association (NCA) located in Washington, D.C. The Penn State York CAS Club was formed in fall semester 2003. One of the main purposes of the club is to enrich the lives of undergraduate students communication majors, minors, and non-majors. This is done by promoting the study, teaching, and application of the principles of communication through educational and social functions that relevant to the membership of the club. Typical club activities include events that promote interaction between students and faculty from the same and other institutions and events that promote interaction between students and professional practitioners. 

Why Join?

The Penn State York CAS Club creates opportunities for members to present papers at national, regional, and state conventions. In addition, the group has a variety of social events including picnics, graduation celebrations, and alumni reunions.

Who can join? How to join?

Any Penn State students can join this national club. The cost is one-time $5.00 fee. Students receive a beautiful certificate of membership from NCA.

If interested in joining, please contact Deborah Eicher-Catt at dle4@psu.edu.

Lambda Pi Eta (Pi Rho)

Lambda Pi Eta is the official CAS honor society of the National Communication Association. The mission of the program is to reward those students who excel in their communication program. An induction ceremony is held every semester. The York chapter at Penn State is designated as "Pi Rho".

To be a Lambda Pi Eta member, you must be selected by the CAS department faculty. Criteria for inductions includes completion of at least 60 semester credit-hours, a minimum grade-point average (GPA) of at least 3.0 for all course taken, be in the upper 35 percent of your institutional academic class, at least a 3.25 GPA for all communication studies courses taken, and completed 12 semester-credit hours in communication studies.

Photo of 2015 Lambda Pi Eta inductees
2015 Lambda Pi Eta inductees: Nicole C. Shockley (not pictured), Amy L. Hammonds, Katherine D. Lewis, Logan P. Steckel, and Emily A. Thompson.

Photo of 2013 Lambda Pi Eta inductees
2013 Lambda Pi Eta inductees: Rollin W. Apgar (not pictured), John C. Arthur, and Thorne J. McFarlane; Professors Deborah Eicher-Catt, Jane S. Sutton, and Associate Professor Joe Downing.